Digital Image Manipulation – Editing Processes – Image 2

IMAGE TWO

circle ranch western cowboy americana photoshop techniques postprocessing digital manipulationMy next image is this one of Colin with one of the horses. It is quite a nice portrait of him I wanted to do a simple vignette on it. So like before I resized the image, as it was a 200mb file, I did not add any film grain as it was taken on film originally.

Dodge and Burning

To get this effect I used the Dodge & Burn tool. These techniques come from printing photographs traditionally in the darkroom. They are used to either dodge a area, this means it will get less exposure and stay lighter than the rest of the photograph. Burning is used to cover most of the photograph and ‘burn in’ to expose that area for longer, making it darker. Although my original image does not need either of these techniques because it is already all correctly exposed I have used the tool to create this darker/lighter areas of the image.

circle ranch western cowboy americana photoshop techniques postprocessing digital manipulation

From this screen shot you van see the sky that I have made slightly darker around the edges with a faint glow inside and around Colin. To control the size of the brush I used the    [ and ] buttons on my keypad. Dodge and burning is not supposed to be a quick or obvious process, you build it up and up until the desired effect is shown.

Now I am happy with this I am going to make the image sepia using the Actions like before.

Here is my final image before and aftercircle ranch western cowboy americana photoshop techniques postprocessing digital manipulation

circle ranch western cowboy americana photoshop techniques postprocessing digital manipulation

I am very happy with the final photograph, I feel that the sepia works really well on here because it gives it that warm glow that old photos often had. I am also happy with it because it is one of my favourite photographs taken at the Ranch, that I felt that it didn’t need any editing at all as I was happy with the original, how ever, I feel that what I have done is not too heavily taking over the image but merely enhancing it. The subtle vignette works well also because it is a portrait, this technique was often used in portraits pre1920 so adds an authenticity to what I am creating.

Leave a Reply

