Moodboard – Graphic Design

graphic design moodboard web design

This mood board shows examples of different graphic design I found on the internet. Graphic design is used as a means of visual communication or communication design. Various methods are used to create and combine words, symbols, and images to create a visual representation of ideas and messages. A graphic designer may use a combination of typography, visual arts and page layout techniques to produce the final result. It is used across a lot of different media, such as posters, flyers, website, advertisments, also identity like brand and logo design, plus publications such as book and magazines, and lastly product packaging.  So a products packging  would include a logo, organised text and pure design elements such as shapes and color which unify the piece. Composition is one of the most important features of graphic design.

Looking over my mood board I see that the styles I have chosen have quite a fun theme. Initially I put in the one in the top left corner,  but have gone off it a lot because I think the colour is awful. The three images that sourround it are all by one graphic designer, who had a slide show of their different work, and I liked a lot of the different designs, including the colours and typeface that is used, also because as you look through all the different designs you can see a style throughout and I feel this is what really makes a good designer really stand out, weather it be interior or graphic or any kind of design its your ‘signature’ look that makes your work easily recognisable. See the website here. I particularly like the design ‘Kinescope’ as I feel it has a cinematic feel to it, the colour and type face works well for me.

The ‘Absinthe Fantome’ is a poster of some kind, that has obviously been designed to look old and I really like it because of that.

The last image ‘Captain Flash’ is a screen shot of a whole website, although unfortunatly its so small its hard to see, but I put it in because I like the layout and the colours used, the design runs through the website and logo consistently making its overall design work really well.

Although none of these images in this moodboard are to do with photography websites, I feel that because graphic design is so broad its important to look at various different types of it so I can understand more about having a website that suits my logo and vice versa so that the whole website, including layout, logo, typeface etc all run with the same theme/feel. I am going to keep looking for examples of more inspirational graphic design as there is so much more out there!

Leave a Reply

